I Wrote My First Short Story

Mac Hooper
2 min readJan 20, 2021

This was quite a special experience for me, I have been a writer for the longest time however this mostly meant writing down ideas and keeping them to myself, this is the first idea I have had that I have written into a short story and recorded a narration of in order to share with other people.

I very much enjoyed the creation process, I took an idea I had been sitting on for a while and bulked/fleshed it out, then I spent time making sure I wasn’t overusing words and that the sentences flowed nicely. Then came the fun bit…

I downloaded GarageBand and started playing around with the settings, after creating a few silly ‘God Voices’ I settled on some settings and began recording my voice. I ended up at about 4 minutes of footage, after some editing and removing the harsh breaths from my voice, I was ready to add some pictures to go with the story.

I found a few stock images as I felt that was the best direction to take with this particular story, I may venture out into different forms of illustration and imagery in future stories, however for the simplicity of this short story it made sense.

Next up I set the metadata of the video and uploaded to YouTube, it already has a good 25 views (at the time of writing) which is quite a good performance considering I don’t post to that YouTube channel all that often.

If you are interested in hearing the story, you can click the image below to be taken to it. Otherwise if you would prefer to read it I will release the text at some point in the near future and that text will be here.

[![Correctional Methods](http://img.youtube.com/vi/MyVKFpa9iic/0.jpg)](http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MyVKFpa9iic “Correctional Methods”)

--

--